A Human Being not a Human Doing

11 Jan

Relaxing-bath-400x600

Earlier today I had a thought which I immediately put on to twitter via @MindCharity, a UK charity dedicated to mental health. It’s had such a positive response that I thought I would share it on here and explain the meaning behind it. The thought was:

“Never underestimate the power of ‘me’ time. You are a human ‘being’ not a human ‘doing’.”

Since my breakdown, I have taken some time out from work, mainly because I have been too down to face it and have needed some time to recover from my ordeal. It’s been 11 days and since starting this blog just yesterday I have started to see light at the end of the tunnel. If you too are struggling I strongly recommend you start your own blog, or write, or express your creativity in some way. I can’t stress how much it is helping (along with my healthy eating of course ;)). ‘Me’ time is a powerful tool.  It allows you to just ‘be’. To be at one with yourself, to do (or not do) what makes you feel at ease. I started this blog. I experiment with my make up and nails. I go through my wardrobe and put together outfits and strut around in them for a bit. I shop online, browse beautiful images and read inpirational words. I have clearouts (I’m very big on ‘editing’ my life in all sorts of ways) I tidy up, I rearrange things, I read magazines, blogs, tweets, news, I add to my scrapbook, I take a bath. All things that on reflection have brought me to a much more pleasant state of mind. ‘Me’ time can be an hour, a day, or weeks. But it is essential that you take this time to heal. To become the new you. The best version of you that you have ever been.

Leave a comment